chiron and me

There’s a subtle Chiron vibe around at the moment as it begins its own 5 month retrograde period in Pisces. Chiron is known as the ‘Wounded Healer’ and when this energy is around you can feel it. At least I can. I feel like I have a personal relationship with this asteroid from the outer solar system. He sits in my natal chart at 29 Pisces, the very last degree of the zodiac, so when anything is in aspect to this part of my chart it usually sends me into a tailspin. Named after the leader of the centaurs in Greek mythology, Chiron was discovered in 1977 orbiting between Saturn and Uranus. Representing the bridge between the Spiritual and Physical as the ‘Wounded Healer’, Chiron highlights the area of our life where the greatest healing can occur, where we may be carrying old wounds within our memory or in our Soul. Chiron has the power to bring those wounds to the surface, forcing us to acknowledge those aspects of ourselves we have either ignored, felt inadequate with or that may have even been too painful to accept. To use the energy of Chiron we must learn to integrate all that we are because of who we are and what we have experienced. But it can be a heavy process of healing. I came to know the energy of Chiron in 2009 when Uranus was dancing over my natal point. Those two planets represent the unexpected and the wounded so for many months every deep and dark emotion was brought forward as Uranus moved back and forth over this part of my chart. Chiron’s healing energy is powerful and some days the tears would be there even when I was sleeping. I would awake in total despair, confused and unsure as to why I felt like it was the end of the world but as I began to see the patterns and learnt to read my chart, I eventually understood the significance of Chiron/Uranus and 29 Pisces. In particular, I learnt to follow Chiron so I could be prepared for the transits but he still manages to catch me off guard. Chiron now joins Saturn, Pluto, Venus and Neptune in the group of planets currently retrograde, adding a healing flavour to the introspective period that retrogrades bring and ensuring this year will be one of true transformation in acknowledging who we are and what we’ve learnt and in sharing the wisdom we’ve gained through the experience of travelling through our own wounds.

Leave a Reply

